Is the Free Visa on Arrival for everyone?

President Joko Widodo signed Presidential Regulation # 21 of 2016 expanding the list of countries to be given Visa.

A check on March 20th, 2016 showed that new additions to the list, for example Australian tourists, were still paying US$35 for a visa on arrival, although the new law officially took effect on March 10th.

As with many things in Indonesia, it takes time to implement something new.

Guests from 168 countries covered under the new rules get a 30-day visa free of charge, that can however not be extended or converted into another class of visa. The free visa is only for tourists and cannot to be used by foreigners working in Indonesia.

The free visa facility is only available a specified major gateways to Indonesia.

Foreign tourists entitled to the free visa can only get it when they enter Indonesia through the following ports:

Entry Airports:
Hang Nadim Airport, Batam
Juanda International Airport, Surabaya
Kualanamu International Airport, Medan
Ngurah Rai International Airport, Bali
Soekarno–Hatta International Airport, Jakarta
Bandar Bentan Telani Lagoi (Tanjung Uban)
Bandar Seri Udana Lobam (Tanjung Uban)
Batam Center (Batam)
Citra Tri Tunas (Batam)
Marina Teluk Senimba (Batam)
Nongsa Terminal Bahari (Batam)
Sekupang (Batam)
Sri Bintan Pura (Tanjung Pinang)
Tanjung Balai Karimun